REPORT ON

Title: Dharmananda Das Memorial North-East Inter-College Debate Competition, 2019" Date: 31st August, 2019

Panelist: 1. Mr. Manabendra Sarma, Assistant Professor, B. Barooah College, Guwahati

- 2. Mrs. Junmoni Devi Khaund, Advocate, Gauhati High Court, Social Activist and Film Producer
- 3. Mr. Jintu Gohain, Senior Research Scholar, Gauhati University



Fig.1: Distinguished guests of the event: Hon'ble Justice Mr. Ujjal Bhuyan, Gauhati High

Court(R-2) Prof. Subhram Rajkhowa, Head of the Department of Law, Gauhati University(R-3) Dr. Tonmoy Das, son of Late Dharmananda Das(R-4) The "Dharmananda Das Memorial North-East Inter-College Debate Competition, 2019" was organized by IQAC, Dispur Law College and Students' Union, Dispur Law College on 31st August, 2019 on the Motion of the House "The newly proposed National Education Policy (NEP), 2019 will not be viable to the present academic infrastructure of North-East India". The competition was inaugurated by Dr. Dayananda Pathak, the then Secretary, Governing Body, Dispur Law College. The welcome address and memorial speech was conveyed by Dr. Gargi Dutta Paul, Principal i/c, Dispur Law College. Late Dharmananda Das was the first nominated IAS officer, who held the post of Chief Secretary, Assam from 29th of August, 1971 to 30th June, 1975.

Mr. Prasanta Rajguru, Editor, Amar Asom Journalist (Assamese Daily) graced the occasion as the Speaker of the House. The Judges of this competition were Mr. Manabendra Sarma, Assistant Professor, B.Barooah College, Guwahati, Mrs. Junmoni Devi Khaund, Advocate, Gauhati High Court, Social Activist and Film Producer, and Mr. Jintu Gohain, Senior Research Scholar, Gauhati University.

The Western Pattern of Debate was followed. The mover of the motion was Sagar Sarma, a student of Udalguri College, Udalguri. The Bill was passed by Voice Vote. After completion of the competition Mr. Prasanta Rajguru in his speech reiterated the qualities of Late Dharmananda Das as well as his philanthropic activities. Mrs. Junmoni Devi Khaund in her speech spoke about the different parameters of the debate competition including presentation, language, contents and conclusion. Mr. Jintu Gohain in his speech highlighted the different steps of debate and also spoke about the Draft NEP.

In the evening session of the event, the welcome address and memorial speech was delivered by Dr. Gargi Dutta Paul, Principal i/c, Dispur Law College. Hon'ble Justice Mr. Ujjal Bhuyan, Gauhati High Court graced the occasion as the Chief Guest, and delivered his valuable speech. Prof. Subhram Rajkhowa, Head of the Department of Law, Gauhati University and Dr. Tonmoy Das, son of Late Dharmananda Das were the Distinguished Guests of the event.

Subsequently, the Best Team Award was presented to the team of Hemanga Gogoi and Jasmin Sultana of Cotton University and the Runner up Team Award was presented to the team of Kasturi Chutia and Zeenat Afrin of Handique Girls' College. The Best Debater Award was given to Tawhid Alam Laskar of National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam. The Judge's Special Choice Award was presented to Saurabhjyoti Dutta of University of Science and Technology, Meghalaya and Liza Bora of B. Barooah College, Guwahati.



Fig2: Winners of the Competition

The vote of thanks was offered by Ms. Jyotshna Saloi, Coordinator, IQAC, Dispur Law College. The event was ended with the performance of Asom Sangeet.

Authenticated by:

*

(Dr. Gargi Dutta Paul) Principal Dispur Law College

(Dr. Swapna Manindranath Deka) Coordinator, IQAC Dispur Law College